i should be knitting.


Yes, I know–another Christmas post. I’m hopeless. πŸ™‚

As my family knows, I’m as excited as my littlest sister (who’s three) for the big day coming up. She and I spent a lot of today just laughing together and talking about it. I read her our whole collection (which is sizable, let me tell you) of Christmas stories today, and then we turned on the radio and danced to the worn-out songs that’ve been covered time and time again by different people.

But we still love them.

Dancing around to the same three songs by different people joyfully, reading the same stories over and over again, thankfulness–Christmas is repetitive.

It comes, the same time each year. We sing out the words that we’ve forgotten that we knew at the top of our lungs, yelling, over and over. We keep trying to forget the horrible things in life–the neediness of the people in 3rd world countries, the diseases that kill hundreds of people daily, the people in other countries who don’t know that December the 25th is something different–we keep trying to gloss it over every single year.

Just to celebrate one day of happiness. And then; again the repetitive; the day after Christmas, regular life catches up to us again, and we forget to be thankful. We forget that we’re supposed to be thankful all the time, not only near the end of the year.

We forget the words to “Joy To The World.”

We forget why we should dance around just for the joy of it.

We forget Christmas.

… And we remember the everyday; the mundane.

Now I may just be rambling on, and you might just be rolling your eyes and unfollowing my blog because I haven’t posted about knitting in a while (I know–I’m working on it!) and just posting about thankfulness. But I believe that we don’t have to be living in December to be thankful.

Right now, Mariah Carey is singing from the radio, wishing that her true love will come back to her on Christmas, or something like that. And I can’t help but thinking, Is this Christmas?

I don’t think so. It’s the sort of thing that you hear on the radio when it’s not Christmas. Despite all of our faults at celebrating it, Christmas is different than everyday.

Christmas is when we forget all of our personal heartbreak, our personal desires … and focus on other people.

Christmas is a time when we remember the people in third world countries who will not have a Happy Christmas. It’s a time when we remember that we aren’t perfect.

Because we will never be perfect.

It’s a time when we remember all of our flaws, and then we, with every imperfection, make someone else happy.

Christmas is in two days. I don’t know about you, but I don’t think I’m ready. I still have to finish (erm … start …) two gifts imperatively. One for my father, and one for my sister (not the three-year-old, but the model for the Tauriel socks).

I made a schedule this morning, “Things to Accomplish Today.” I got sidetracked quite a bit, and I am going to be lucky if I can get the first Monkey sock finished today.

And I am not quite sure if I am worrying about this because I am vain and I don’t want to appear like I didn’t do any planning this year, or because I want my family to be happy because of something I did.

Vanity for sure, right? πŸ™‚

Anyway, I hope I’ve given you something to think about these few days before The Day, and I hope that you finish all of your Christmas gifts and you have a lovely Christmas.

(And if you were wondering about that abrupt end, I ran out of words to say and didn’t want to write anything out of context here.)

Merry Christmas!

And a Happy New Year! (I’ll probably be around for one more post before the end of the year, but that just seemed like the right thing to say.)

(I wonder if I said that because in BBC’s Sherlock, Sherlock says, “Merry Christmas” to Mycroft, and Mycroft answers, “And a Happy New Year.”)

(Either way, I should stop talking now.)

J

PS. I know, I said I’d stop talking, but I just wanted to tell you all thank you for all of the feedback on the Tauriel socks. The morning after they were out, I woke up and all of my sock patterns were on the first page of the Sock category of Ravelry’s Hot Right Now list.

Untitled picture
Tauriel at the #1 spot with Mirror at #5.

 

Untitled picturne
Tauriel at 1, Mirror at 6 and Daydreamer down there a bit.

And in the weeks since then, it’s gotten more favorites than Mirror, and 9 projects have already been added to the Ravelry database. Thank you!

J

 

12 thoughts on “i should be knitting.

  1. Beautiful post, and so true. I have been struggling to get into the Christmas Spirit this year in any sense of the word and I am glad for this post. Thank you (Congrats about the socks by the way, once I’ve seen the hobbit movies I will knit them!)

    Like

  2. Merry Christmas! Well, as they say, it’s the thought that counts for making handmade presents. Surprisingly, I am only behind on one present this year.

    Congrats on being on the top for the Ravelry Hot Right Now list!

    Like

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

