bloggiversary.


The past few weeks have really been busy for me. And I’m sorry that I couldn’t talk about the goings on since I got back to Haiti, what with all of the posting that I’ve been working on.

The first thing: Tauriel, my sock pattern, was featured on Spud and Chloe’s official Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest pages. If you’ll remember, I used their Fine base in the Green Bean colorway, and I’m really happy that they like the pattern.

I was also featured on the knittyBlog on their year-end blog post, and I was really happy about that.

I also finished the Petty Harbour socks (the recipient was very grateful, and that really was good) and started and finished Hunter Hammersen’s Deflect socks. The Deflects were quite fun, despite frogging after both socks were completed. And then that part when I had only an inch or two left on the foot and I noticed that I’d made a mistake in the cable panel at the start of the gussets.

I did not frog.

Instead …

IMG_2257

Yes, folks, in the wee hours of the morning, I dropped the cable column down to the ankle and knitted back up.

It worked out quite good, if I do say so myself.

IMG_2268

Unfortunately, I accidentally got the sock mixed up with other dark clothes, and put them in the laundry …

They now fit my mother.

So, I am going to knit myself the Sake socks by Cookie A. They’ve been in my queue forever, and KnitPicks has their Hawthorne in lovely kettle-dyed shades, and you know how I can’t resist new yarns, right? I ordered the colors Picnic for Sake and Slate for a new design project.

Another project finished was the Skullcracker hat for my baby brother. I was in the middle of some really stressful design work, and I needed some instant gratification knitting. So on Sunday before church, I whipped one up really quickly.

To be truthful, I don’t know why I knitted him the hat. He doesn’t even like hats. Every single time we try to put one on him, he throws it off and laughs like throwing hats of is the funniest thing in the universe. When he does leave it on however … well, I didn’t know that he could get any cuter than he is. πŸ™‚

So, of course he didn’t leave it on when I needed to take photos of him. Here is the entire ordeal, ending with Mom trying to help, him wanting the hat on his feet, and the hat on the floor.

Today is my one year blog anniversary, and I am quite excited. It doesn’t seem like I’ve been blogging for a year! I am very glad that the first year wasn’t quite unproductive (18,400 page views!), and that I have actually stuck with this thing pretty good.

And in honor of this “bloggiversary”, and the milestone of my first pattern, Daydreamer being published this time last year, on March 3rd, I am planning to have a new pattern released! So, if you are interested, please stay tuned for that.

Until then!

J

13 thoughts on “bloggiversary.

  1. I keep making both my boys hats (a 4 year old and an almost-6 month old). The older one loves hats but he wears them for a hot minute and then quits. I don’t know why I bother either, other than he’s so frickin’ cute. The small one is just interested in chewing so most of his hats have been cotton lately (less chance of fuzz)……..but a hat in a couple hours before church? Are you magic? It takes me a couple days to do a hat, maybe a week if it’s for me. But I don’t have all that much time to knit. ::sigh::

    Also, looking forward to your new pattern πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Wow! Crazy cable rip job! I think I would have cried, and then I would have definitely cried after they went in the wash. πŸ˜‰

    Did you happen to see my cable sleeve that I ripped out?

    Like

    1. Yes I did! That’s crazy! I would never attempt that on a SWEATER! If I ever have that happen to me, I would rip out and then tell the designer that I was breaking up with the pattern! You are one brave lady! πŸ™‚

      J

      Like

  3. You are so talented and brave to undo the cable pattern and reknit it. Bravo!

    Your little brother is a cutie. My kids loved wearing hats all year long when they were toddlers on up to grade school age. I knit them hats now that they’ve graduated college.

    Congrats on your 1st year anniversary, too.

    Cheers!

    Like

  4. Hi, and happy bloggiversary! Even if your little brother doesn’t appreciate his hat, it still looks adorable on him πŸ™‚ You are truly an amazing knitter. I love reading your blog.

    Like

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

