curry.


Ravelry: Curry socks

This pattern has been the longest sock pattern for me to design. I’ve been working on this one ever since June of last year.

And I have a really good reason why I’ve been working on it so long.

This is my first paid-pattern. Instead of keeping the money that I make, I designed this pattern so that all profits will go to an organization that gives sewing machines to widows in India so that they can support their families.

And you have to admit, that’s a very good cause. So, when you buy the pattern, you can rest easy, knowing that you’re supporting women who would otherwise be supporting their families through heavy labor, or other menial tasks, and you’ll be knitting a snappy pair of socks with — get this, folks — absolutely NO purling, with the exception of the Sweet Tomato heel.

As knitters, we know what it’s like when we get to share our craft with other people. We know what it’s like to make something with our hands. We know the satisfaction that we get when we finish our project.

That’s what this ministry is doing. They are giving the Indian women something that they can connect with — something that they can do with their hands and have the same satisfaction that we have when we finish something. And that is a priceless gift.

I knit the sample out of Shibui Knits Staccato, a Merino/Silk blend that feels like butter when you knit with it. The sock features swaths of stockinette stitch set at a bias with a lace panel running down the instep, continuing to the toe, as well as the back of the leg.

As I said above, the heel is Cat Bordhi’s Sweet Tomato Heel technique, which you can watch her demonstrate here. It’s the first time that I’d ever done a Sweet Tomato Heel, and I found it most enjoyable and fascinating. If you purchase the pattern, I would recommend watching it, because written instructions can be confusing.

I would like to thank Anna Smegal from AersKnits for tech-editing this pattern at the last minute. She was very gracious and understanding when I asked her to look over the pattern. And I’m very relieved that I did ask her — she spotted a quite a few mistakes that had escaped my radar. Thank you, Anna!

And finally, thank you: it has been one year since the release of my first pattern, and I’d like to thank everyone who’s stuck with me for so long!

(And now I know that I can finish designing, knit, and write a pattern for a pair of socks in a week! It’s something that I never want to do again, though …)

14 thoughts on “curry.

    1. Thank you for commenting! They are very fun and ingenious–if you haven’t watched the Cat Bordhi video, I would highly recommend doing so, for (1) Cat, and (2) the way that she can explain things.

      Like

  1. Woo-hoo!

    Not that this is helpful, but I’ve been working on a sock pattern for…well…let me consult Ravelry…..I started the prototype in May 2013. They’ve been finished for exactly one year today…and yet, the pattern sits, mostly unwritten other than notes for the gusset decreases and how to arrange stitches for the heel…..

    So, woo-hoo for getting things up and running! I need to do the same…

    Like

  2. I’m going to have to give these a try. I’ve never knitted a sweet tomato heel. The socks are lovely and interesting. What a great cause to support as well! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I had never knit one either, and I thought that it was really fun. I’ll definitely keep that heel technique in mind the next time a plain short-row heel is called for in a pattern.

      Like

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

