stash enhancement.


With almost every single person in my family having birthdays in the month of April, I’ve been pretty busy these past few weeks, so I’m not going to have time for an informative blog post, as I had been planning for this week.

The only thing distracting me from gift-knitting then is all of the projects I want to cast on. And with this whole slew of yarn that I might have ordered when Knit Picks was having a sale …

I think I’m getting even more behind in everything I should be doing even more than usual.

So, onto those particular distractions:

First up is the Knit Picks Hawthorne I talked about earlier. I ordered the colors Slate (grey) and Picnic (red). With Picnic, I casted on the Sake socks by Cookie A for myself. And I was planning on doing a design project with the Slate, but I think plans have changed. (More on that later.)

I got Sake #1 finished, and I realized that I was going to have to buy another skein.

IMG_2851 IMG_2850

And you do know that you can’t just buy one skein of yarn, eh?

I ordered some Knit Picks Comfy Fingering for a pair of socks that my great-aunt Phyllis has been asking for for quite a while, 100 grams of their Stroll Brights in Electric Blue, and 2 skeins of Chroma Worsted in Lake Front for a scarf for my grandma, along with that skein of Hawthorne.

My lovely parents also added to the stash by buying me some exclusive handdyed yarn from Dyeing to Please from a lys of a town they were passing through. The owner of the shop dyes it herself and it is not sold anywhere else. It says DK on the ball band, but it’s actually a light fingering at 16 WPI.

For another project, I got some Cascade Heritage in the Steel colorway. The socks that I’m knitting are Cookie A’s Rhombus socks, and I feel sort of strange, because it is the exact same yarn and color that of the socks featured in the book. I’ve never, ever done that before, and it just feels way different than deciding for myself what color I want the socks to be.

IMG_2834

It’s just weird.

I finished a stuffed duck (whom I call the Ugly Duckling, MD)Β  for my little brother’s birthday. The pattern is from an issue of Knitty that I was in and is called Dr. Quackers. Hopefully he likes this better than that hat I knitted him …

A while back, I started the Strago socks by Jared Flood, which is a pair of colorwork slipper-socks made with worsted wieght yarn. I’m knitting them for a person that I’ll be seeing here soon, hopefully at the end of April, so I need to hurry up and finish them. Surprisingly, they are going quite well, and they’re actually turning out, unlike my last colorwork project.

I knitted a shawl (which has no pattern — I made it up as I went along) for my littlest sister’s birthday since she has been asking insistently for my mother, and alternately me to knit her one.

I’m also almost finished with knitting her Shaun the Sheep plush toy. I’m not sure if I should leave it legless or not, since the legs are being a pain.

IMG_2847

I made my first entrelac project, the Entrelac Scarf by Allison LoCicero, with KP Chroma Worsted in Wildflower. Entrelac is so addicting! πŸ™‚

A little earlier, I knitted two shawls right in a row. I think I’m beginning an obsession. First was the Omelet shawl from a past issue of Knitty, knitted with Knit Picks Shadow in Nocturne.

Then with a skein of STR that I thought the Curry socks would be knitted with, but was wrong, I knitted Connie Chang Chinchio’s Cabled-Edge Shawlette from Scarf Style 2. This was my favorite pattern when I first got a hold of the book, and I’ve had it in my queue forever, so as soon as I decided I liked knitting shawls, I settled on the pattern, rooted around in the stash for a suitable skein, and casted on.

This was an impulse project if ever there was one.

Another impulse project is a recent one — as of this morning, actually. I started the Nurminlintu shawlette by Heidi Alander with that Stroll Brights yarn that I just got. I’m going to do the garter stitch sections in the blue and the lace parts with the Slate Hawthorne. I just love this pattern! More on it at a later time.

I’m also knitting a new sock design with Quince and Co.’s Finch in River. I’m planning on getting it submitted to the Deep Fall issue of Knitty, if everything works out!

IMG_2823 IMG_2821

And of course I can’t forget the other thing I’ve finished:

Whoops! I mean:

IMG_1241

πŸ™‚

Thank you guys for the enthusiasm displayed at the Gloveless Fingers!

Happy Knitting!

J

10 thoughts on “stash enhancement.

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

