road trip.


We aren’t so fortunate as to have a yarn shop in our town.

I don’t think that there are any people here who would even appreciate one opening up, besides us, of course.

Because of our tragic situation, we like visiting other towns’ yarn shops.

We were visiting family in Washington, near the Canadian border, and we had a great time. We took pictures of a new design (top secret!) on the beach, and they turned out absolutely excellent.

Sneak preview? Alright.

Sorry that I had to crop the socks out … ๐Ÿ™‚

The model is my grandmother, who is a crafter. Her quilts are works of art, and she knits, spins, and dyes. She’s talented!

Stop 1: Apple Yarns, Bellingham, WA

Bought: Cedar House Yarns‘s Sapling Sock (75% Superwash Merino wool, 25% nylon) in the color Oyster.

Cedar House Yarn Sapling Sock Cedar House Yarn Sapling Sock

Cedar House is a brand-new yarn company based out of Bellingham. I love her colors, especially Ginger and Ink.

On the drive to Bellingham (two days), I finished Ysolda’s Orchid Thief shawlette which I had started a day before our trip. I gave it to my grandmother who really appreciated it. I used Newton’s Yarn Country 50% wool 50% cashmere fingering.

I knit a hat for Grandma’s brother, who was present, and his reaction was what a knitter really, really hopes for when they give knitwear away. I’m so thankful that he loves it. I used some of Grandma Rommie’s handspun bulky Lopi.

I finished Strago and gave it to Grandma’s husband, Angus.

IMG_3268 IMG_3270

It was kind of funny, because when I gave them to him, he put them on, and marched over to Grandma, who was sitting at a table in the next room, and put his woolen-clad foot on the table. “I have wool socks!”

I started another hat, a striped one, on the way back and finished it on the final day on the road.

IMG_3434

[As a side note, there will be a pattern revamp for the hat pattern I released a long time ago. That’s why I’ve been knitting hats.

IMG_3437 IMG_3438

๐Ÿ™‚ ]

On the way back, we took a scenic route home. The drive was beautiful, and as we passed through towns, I looked out of the window at the scenery. I saw a sign on a park that said “Tolt Park.”

Now, some of you may know about what “Tolt” means for knitters. As soon as I saw that sign, I said, “Dad, Dad! Are we in Carnation?”

And as it happens, we got to stop at one of the most esteemed shops in the northwest, Tolt Yarn and Wool. Perfection!

Stop 2: Tolt Yarn and Wool, Carnation, WA.

Bought: Bumblebirch Wellspring (100% Merino) in the color Rosemary.

Bumblebirch Wellspring Bumblebirch Wellspring

Sorry for no pictures of the store. I had no camera with me.

On our way back from WA, we stopped by some of mom and dad’s high school friends’ house, and I gave our hostess the Nurmilintu that I made.

***

There have been some interesting developments since the last time I’ve written. A few I can’t talk about, and one I can.

I’m going to be interviewing Heidi Alander of Sadelma Knits, the designer of the Nurmilintu shawlette for the blog in the next few weeks. If you have any questions that you would like to ask her, please post them on the thread here.

In June, we’ll be starting a KAL for any of her patterns, namely her newest one, Kottarainen (which is the Finnish word for Starling). I’ll be doing Kottatainen and Eyeblink, but you can choose any pattern of hers that you want.

There will be a prize for the first to finish, so stay tuned! ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on “road trip.

    1. Thanks, CreepingThyme! I finished it at her house at around 10:30, and finished washing/blocking it around midnight. It was a little hard to keep the shawl symmetrical while blocking, but I managed. Grandma Rommie (ragfinery.com) really loved it. She almost started crying the next morning when I unpinned it and gave it to her. It was great.

      Thanks so much for commenting! I love hearing from you!
      J

      Like

    1. Thanks for commenting, Wei! I’m working on three new patterns right now: 2 socks and 1 shawl. I really want to knit your Geeks, but I’m thinking about taking a break from personal knitting. Soon, though!

      J

      Like

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

