2: beginnings.


IMG_1684

This day’s post is supposed to be about the blogger, in this case, me. What do I say about myself?

I don’t know. I guess that one of the most obvious aspects in my life at the moment is the thing that this blog is centered around. I really love knitting.

The knitting obsession started out as seeing something and wanting to master it, not necessarily having plans to continue with it as far as I have. I was six or seven and my mother was learning how to knit. She’d taught me how to crochet already, and I was fascinated by pulling the yarn through the loops and seeing something (usually a long chain that were made for Christmas tree garlands, but somehow only got put on the tree once) emerge from doing those simple actions.

My mom wanted to get knitting 100% down before she taught me. But I wanted to learn before that. So one night, I got a pair of chopsticks and some Red Heart yarn, and I taught myself, to use the phrase loosely. I basically casted on by wrapping the yarn repeatedly around the needle and did a weird, garter stitch heart that I didn’t even shape, it just turned out that way, with all stitches knit tbl. I think my mother still has it.

One of my grandmothers gave me and my sister a book by Melanie Falick entitled Kids Knitting that really helped me learn about respecting the craft. That book was where I got my first sock pattern out of.

I didn’t finish the socks for some reason. I don’t even know why I took them out–or even if I did take it out–but I took a break from sock knitting. The next sock I knit was out of Regia self-striping fingering weight. It was plain vanilla and really easy, but for some strange reason, I didn’t check gauge at that time in my life … so they really didn’t turn out.

I didn’t know anyone who had a 13 inch foot circumference, so they got ripped out as well.

At that time, I was really into knitting and crocheting flora and fauna. I knitted/crocheted about a hundred flowers and gave them away to anybody who would take them.

Amigurumi was the next obsession that I had. I really miss crocheting tiny manga-style cats!

I finally finished my first sock (singular).

It was toe up. (I basically casted on 10 stitches and joined, so there was a huge hole in the toe.)

It was custom fitted. (Tried it on every once in a while and increased appropriately.)

It captured my interest. (Well, for a while, and then I just bound off.)

I wore it all the time. (On the other foot I had a mate-less sock, so that worked out well.)

I was ten or eleven at that time. Once, I was at the library looking at the knitting book section, and an old lady who was browsing the craft section said to me, “So … do you knit?”

I beamed at her. “Yup! I even made my sock (singular)!” I hoisted up my pant leg to show her the brown tube sock with the curled cuff that barely came above my ankle.

Now, as I’m looking back, she was probably thinking, I knew it. If the future is in the hands of children like this one, the knitting community is doomed!

I took a little break from knitting at this point. I don’t know what happened, really. I think the reason for this was that I got distracted by reading and writing. My only dream at this point was to be a world-renown multi-published best-selling author.

When I was thirteen, I finally got into knitting socks again. I read all of the books on knitting socks that I could get my hands onto and I launched into my first pair of socks: Vintage Kneesocks by Wendy D. Johnson. I still didn’t understand all of the principal parts of sock construction, but as long as I followed the instructions all the way, I was good.

Then I knit the Kai-Mei sock by Cookie A out of that Regia self-striping.

I decided that I would try my hand at designing, and so my third pair of “real” socks were designed by me. They were knit out of a microfiber sport weight in an all-over lace pattern and I can safely say that they will never, ever be published. πŸ™‚

And that was how this sock thing started.

***

The rest you’re probably familiar with. Pitching twice to Knitty before getting in twice so far. All of the other patterns.

In Eskimimi’s theme for today, she asks several questions to get people writing, and since I kind of did my own thing today, I’ll answer those questions.

Q: Do you like to walk or keep fit?

A: I like to walk … But that’s not how I keep fit. I try to go on a run a few times per week. My dad really likes to do ultra-runs, and I’m starting to get with that. I think that going a hundred miles up a mountain is a little crazy, though, so I did the 16 miler. πŸ™‚ I also cycle but I haven’t really been out this year.

Q: Do you read or enjoy movies – are there any personal favorite books or films that you would recommend?

A: I love to read and I love to watch movies! I think since my knitting has really taken off, reading has suffered the most. Some of my all-time favorites include the All The Wrong Questions series (yet to be completed) by Lemony Snicket, The Mysterious Benedict Society series by Trenton Lee Stewart, The Lord of the Rings/The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien, The Candy Shop War by Brandon Mull, The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins,

My favorite movies are The Lord of the Rings/The Hobbit, the Marvel movies I’ve seen (I think most of them, but I’m not sure),

Q: What is your dream holiday destination, job, dinner party guest list?

A: Dream holiday? New Zealand.

Dream Job? Knitting for a living. πŸ™‚

Dream dinner party list? Let’s see … Captain America, Sherlock Holmes, John Watson, Agent Coulson, The Doctor, Amy and Rory Pond, Clara Oswald, Cookie A, Ed Sheeran, Elrond, Smaug, and Thorin.

Could be an interesting dinner.

18 thoughts on “2: beginnings.

  1. I can’t imagine what would have happened if I had started knitting when I was small.

    I wish I had more time to knit. I’m working on a(nother) sock design right now but between two small children and being a Domestic Goddess, I just don’t have time to knit like I want. The pattern is 85% written but the prototype is nowhere near finished. ::sigh::

    Also, that dinner party…I think I’d throw in Donna and take out Clara (she just doesn’t appeal to me much for some reason) and I think I would add someone like Franklin Habit to the mix πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Tell me when you’re finished with that pattern! Is it in your projects page? I completely forgot about Donna for some reason! I have no idea why; she’s my favorite companion, but I’m adding her to The List. πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Gah! Stupid ipod. I meant to say drop me a line when you get this organized. I’ll bring an apple pie, scones, and a pot of tea. I do so want to meet Captian America. 😊

      Like

  2. Reading habits don’t have to suffer for knitting habits! I have an ereader, and because i don’t have to fumble with turning pages, i read and knit at the same time. I highly recommend!

    And yes, that sounds like an awesome dinner party πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks for commenting! I have tried knitting and reading, but I can’t do it if I’m knitting something non-brainless. I really should try it with an ereader! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the great advice!

      Like

    1. Thanks Rayna! I will get back to you on that collaboration, I promise. It has been on the forefront of my mind for a long time now, but I’ve got to clear some things off my plate, such as all that swatching … ugh. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. No hurry at all, I promise! I have a couple of projects in the works now, and Tour de Fleece in July. Come September, I should be ready to dive into something new! πŸ˜€

        Like

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

