Kottarainen.


I wanted to have my Kottarainen shawl blocked on Saturday. We were on a weekend trip and there were a few hours of car time, perfect for working on those long rows nearing the end of the shawl.

And I probably would have had the shawl finished on Saturday, too … if I had remembered to bring the contrasting color. I had finished the stripes, cut the green and started the lace. But alas for me, there are 3 rows of the CC specified in the pattern for the end of the shawl.

Suffice to say, I finished it on Monday.

IMG_3889 IMG_3885 IMG_3888 IMG_3892 IMG_3890

I am pleased with how it turned out. It was fun to knit and it went quickly, even on the lace border.

In other KAL news, realyn has started her Meadow Grass shawl, which I look forward to seeing (realyn’s Meadow Grass), and cupani has been knitting a Kottarainen in lovely pink and grey colors: Cupani’s Galah.

I’ll share those with you as soon as they are done!

Best,

J

11 thoughts on “Kottarainen.

    1. KAL: knit-a-long (jargon). When, on the knitting social media site, Ravelry, a group of knitterly individuals knit a pattern (or patterns) by a certain designer, or under a certain topic, ie. Hobbit-inspired sock designs, sharing their progress as they go along.

      Hehe. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Why thank you! I normally dislike stripes, but this was so bearable. ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe it was the contrast between the tightly twisted two ply and the loosely spun two ply, or maybe it was the kettle dyed variations versus the solid color … Anyway, it was really fun! Thank you so much for commenting!
        J

        Like

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

