[title goes here.]


The following is a quick post having to do with finished objects and queue additions. If you only read cohesive posts (not ones written when there are many other things on the author’s mind), or prefer not to have your list of things to knit grow longer, please do not read this. Thank you.

The Eyeblink shawl is finshed. It got a little boring when all you were doing was stockinette, but once I got to the lace, it went really fast.

A pair of toddler socks for my littlest sister is completed, created from self-striping from my first sock knitting foray.

(Pardon my cat photobombing. :/)

I finished a design prototype. With MadTosh Sock.

And I can’t post any photos of this for … reasons …

I finished a pair of socks by the lovely Wei S. Leong called Geek, from the Knitty Spring/Summer 2015 issue. I used Knit Picks Felici in the color Baker Street. This went quickly (after some really bad gauge problems on my behalf), and I love them. I haven’t blocked them yet, but once I do, I’ll get lots of wear from these. They also looks like some sort of complicated fair isle was done if you turn these socks inside out. #lifehacksinknitting

I also received some yarn from Andi (from the AndreSueKnits blog, yarn company, and podcast) for a new sock design that most likely won’t be out until next year. Andi devised this colorway for me especially for this design. Unlike most of her colorways, this one is repeatable, so you can knit a multiple skein project. And it is so beautiful! She named it Daydreamer, and I just love it! πŸ™‚ So, if you have a need (er … want) for a skein of sock yarn in a wonderful color, check out this yarn in her shop!

She also sent me sheep sticky tabs (I think that once I use them up, I’m going to have to order some, because they are just too cute), an electronic row counter (which you can get from her Etsy shop), and a really sweet note in an alpaca greeting card. So, thank you very much, Andi!

Because I’ve been doing all this design work, my mind often travels back to “regular” knitting. I sort of wish that I didn’t have an interest in design, because there are so many things I want to knit! (I think I’ve said that multiple times, but it bears repeating; especially in a time like this.)

I’m compiling a list of Christmas gift knitting, and even though I’m cutting back in the amount of things to gift, it seems to be growing. And I have been eyeing sweaters and yarn for this upcoming season. It is a big commitment, because I’ve never knit a sweater before. I think this first one is going to be the Lumberjack pattern, and I want to use Quince and Co. Chickadee.

I also want to do these Moustached Cat socks, by AndreSueKnits. These are great! Ima be classy if I wear these. πŸ™‚

I have a desire to knit the Police Box mittens by SpillyJane. I’ve never done mittens before, and if I like knitting this pattern, my whole family will get TARDIS mittens for Christmas.

I’m sorry for the butchered grammar this week; things are hectic.

See you soon.

J

15 thoughts on “[title goes here.]

  1. I can totally understand the design thing….my queue on Ravelry is a bit out of hand and I’m designing and I’ve got two kids and life just gets in the way of my knitting sometimes (okay, a lot…). ::sigh::

    Like

    1. Although I cannot relate to the two kids, and I do not have much of a life outside of knitting and school, I think that I might be able to relate to you. But I’m trying to keep it under three pages of patterns. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I really enjoyed the “warning at the beginning” of course I ended up having to look at the patterns and some may or may not have been added to my queue. I really love the way your Baker street turned out, they are so much fun. The pattern is great with the self striping yarn and I think wearing them inside out on occasion wouldn’t be a bad thing.

    Like

  3. I had a go at those Geek socks, but the yarn I tried was more self-patterning that self-striping, so gave up & knit plain vanilla – which look anything but. See what you mean about the Fair Isle though.

    And that Daydreamer yarn, that blue. “Nor thy neighbour’s yarn!” Ahem. Looking forward to seeing what you make with it.

    Like

    1. Yes, it could be really hard in self-patterning. But sometimes, the yarn just calls to be plain vanilla. And the Daydreamer yarn … well, it’s just so pretty, and I am seriously fighting the urge to knit in stocking-stitch bliss. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. You did a fabulous job of the Geeks. Thank you for knitting them! I like your Eyeblink. I may knit it one day, if I can tear myself away from my current obsession with all the socks!

    Like

  5. How did I not know that the Police Box mittens existed?! Added to queue immediately. Fun fact, whenever I see the Eyeblink pattern mentioned all I can think of is ‘don’t blink’. Your finished shawl looks absolutely lovely.

    Like

    1. Haha! I’m planning on getting the pattern soon; there is a sale on her mittens. And Don’t Blink is actually what I called my shawl in Ravelry, because that’s the first thing that came to my mind as well. πŸ™‚ And now that I know you’re a whovian, you’re that much cooler in my eyes. πŸ™‚ Happy #NationalBowTieDay !

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

