awards.


IMG_3594

In the past several weeks, I’ve received two blog awards (the Starlight blog award and the Sunshine blog award) from two very special bloggers (Paula and The Bored Little Piggy). These two awards are very similar; the nominator, when passing the award along to other bloggers asks the nominees three questions, and in turn, the nominee must ask the bloggers that they nominate three questions of their own.

There are quite a few technical things involved in the awards, and I don’t really want to go through them all now. This is supposed to be a fun thing; not one that gives you a headache. But, Paula was good and did the said technical things, so if I’ve nominated you, go back and read her post, please.

So, let’s start with the questions.

From The Bored Little Piggy:

1. The journey of crafting (knitting/crocheting/stitching) must have started somewhere. How did you start with yours?

Chopsticks. Horrible acrylic yarn. A strange method of casting on.

If you’d like to read the full story, click here. πŸ™‚

2. What was the proudest moment in your crafting (knitting/crocheting/stitching/others) life?

My proudest moment is a pretty recent one; it was when I was first published in Knitty with the Mirror socks.

3. What was the worst comment you have ever heard from other people (who usually don’t understand what you’re doing) about your work?

The worst comment I’ve had was actually by a knitter who didn’t like the Tauriel sock pattern. All in all, what they said wasn’t true, written in ungrammatical English, and funny, when I got over it.

Another terrible comment I’ve had was also pretty funny. On Ravelry, when someone links to a designer’s page, the designer is notified by Ravelry, so I found this one by Ravelry’s excellent notification system. A lady was saying it was great that teenagers were starting to get into knit design, and another lady commented on her post and said, “I hate teenagers. πŸ™‚ ”

I was tempted to write and say, “I do too.”

But I didn’t.

And another time (this was in real life), I was at a convention of sorts, and my little sister spilled coffee on the sock I was knitting, and quickly deserted me. I began cleaning up the mess, and a guy that was walking past took one look at my sister’s retreating form, saw the coffee cup in my hand, and the drenched yarn in the other, and said, “Oh no. Somebody’s going to be mad!”

I don’t think that I could describe my face at the moment. Somewhere between incredulity and Gollum.

I think he shrank back a little, and I said, “Yes. They are.” And it’s hard to describe the tone of my voice, too. Between incredulity and Gollum is accurate, I believe.

But that wasn’t really a negative comment, just some man’s ignorance.

People these days.

And now onto Paula’s questions.

1. If you describe or picture your inner soul how will you describe it?

A tangled ball of yarn. One that’s preferably made out of 100% domestic wool.

2. What are you working on right now?

A purple Evelyn A. Clark lace triangle shawl out of Malabrigo Lace.

3. What is your creative dream project?

This is certainly a hard one. I’d love to someday have a flock of Cormo or Blue-Faced Leicester sheep, but that’s probably going to be down the road a bit. I’d love to get into spinning. I have a bag of raw Columbia wool in the garage that I need to deal with very soon. I just don’t know what I’m going to scour it in (it’s pretty … huge …).

Also, I’d like to be a minimalist.

Read: I have too much stuff.

Now I’d like to list a few people that I think should be nominated for every blog award under the sun. These people have blogs that if you haven’t checked out, you really need to, especially if you’re feeling uninspired. I understand that not all of these folks are going to have time to write up a blog post and nominate their favorite bloggers, so this is also doubling as a list of people that I want to thank for putting their work and writing out there.

AndreSueKnits

Wool Pickle

Woolly Mastadon

Curious Handmade

Fringe Association

Pigeonroofstudios

Violently Domestic

Knitted Bliss

Kiwiyarns Knits

Woolful

Those are in no particular order.

My questions to them are:

1. What is the first thing that comes into your mind when you’re asked to cite your inspiration?

2. Besides that special place in your own home, or in your studio, where do you retreat to create?

3. Where do you see handknitting/fiber/dyeing as an industry in ten years?

*

I would like to thank you, too.

Thank you for sticking with me for my first year and a half in the knitting world/blogosphere. Thank you for checking out my patterns. Thank you for commenting–I love reading what you have to say, and I love getting a little peek into your own crafting world. Special thanks to Rayna Curtis Fegan, Scotty, Renee Anne, Sharon, Sarah, and Callie.

Thank you again, Paula and Bored Little Piggy. I’m looking forward to watching your blogs grow and what you make of them.

J

13 thoughts on “awards.

  1. Thank you for being such an inspiration, and thank you for the links to those lovely blogs…
    I love your knitting story, and would like to congratulate you for your Mirror Socks. I think they’re beautiful. Have to admit that until today, I have never tried socks yet, but I will…
    But, blimey… some people are so insensitive with their comments, aren’t they? xx

    Like

    1. Thank you for nominating me! I really enjoy the wit you put into every post. πŸ™‚ And thanks for checking out my socks! I’m going to have another pattern besides Tauriel and Mirror in Knitty this Winter, so that’s exciting. πŸ™‚

      Yes they are! I wish that they would exercise some common nice-ness. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for your nomination. It was very kind of you! You’ve done a great job of answering those questions, and I do like the questions you’ve asked in return. I shall respond. It’s a funny old world. I think sometimes people forget when making anonymous comments about patterns or knitting that there is a real person at the other end, with real feelings. The good thing in the knitting world is that for every thoughtless comment, you’ll have many, many more that number who are supportive. Do not let the bad stuff get you down. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. My initial thought for a comment was “Ugh, I hate teenagers, too :p”, and then a congratulations, which you still very much deserve. I was not at all expecting to see my name, though, and was kind of shocked that it actually did lead back to me. I’m honored πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! I really love your blog, and the way that you’re honest about photoshoots by doing behind the scenes, and all that jazz. Someday, I’d like to be as good of a blogger as you are. πŸ™‚

      Like

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

