halfway NaNo’d out.


Tomorrow marks the halfway point of this NaNoWriMo. While I won’t bore you with details or anything, it is coming along, little by little. I had a terrible start (I actually scrapped the novel I was working on on the first week), but the whole thing is picking up speed. Still a bit behind, but I’m getting there. Now that there is something of a plot set-up, telling the rest of the story should be okay. (And now that I’ve said that, I just know something will go wrong …)

nano halfway 15

A quick update on a few other things:

I’ve been saying that there is going to be a new pattern out for the last few months, ever since Meduseld came out, I think. I said that I would have it ready by first October (ha!), then November, and now, me and my tech-editor are pretty sure that the beginning of December is when that’ll be ready. For those of us in the US, we’ve got Thanksgiving coming up, and then after that, Christmas, so things are getting crazier every day.

But when they are ready, I think you all are going to like them a lot. (So excited!)

Near the beginning of this month, I finished my sweater! I’ve worn it almost everyday since then, and now I’m afraid of wearing it out. I’ll have to ration wearing it or something. But I just love it! I knitted it out of Quince and Co Chickadee, which is 100% American wool that is spun and dyed in Maine. Quince’s story is really unique and it feels special supporting America’s fiber producers. If you haven’t heard the latest Woolful episode, you need to check it out; it’s with Pam Allen, Quince’s founder, and that is an episode that I’ll probably listen to over and over again. Pam is so inspiring and she had many important things to say.

IMG_6309IMG_6298

I also knit up an INSULATE! hat, which was lots of fun. I’m actually working on a second INSULATE! hat, I liked it so much. Colorwork is so fun. πŸ™‚

IMG_6370

One last project I want to share with you before my eyes need a break from staring at a computer screen:

IMG_6394

IMG_6398

Can you guess what that is?

Folks, that is a COLD VIRUS. That is one of those evil little viruses that you catch that make you miserably sick this time of year. I guess that proves even the nastiest things can be made cute in fiber. πŸ™‚

Thanks for all of your kind and supportive comments on the last post. You really mean much to me, and I hope you know it.

Also if you do read my blog but haven’t introduced yourself, please leave a comment. Thank you!

Best,

J

16 thoughts on “halfway NaNo’d out.

  1. Your sweater looks amazing! Congratulations on finishing it. πŸ™‚ That’s quite an accomplishment. How long did it take you to knit it? I have a sweater on the needles that’s been that way for over a year now. -_- Eventually I’ll get it done. I think after all the Christmas knitting is done I’ll focus on that! πŸ˜€ Cheers, J! ~Alice

    Like

    1. Thank you! I started it at the beginning of October and finished it on the 3rd, I think. I was going to try to finish in time for Helen Stewart’s Curious Handmade Wardrobe challenge, but it was slightly late.

      Good luck on Christmas knitting. That can be a chore sometimes.

      Like

  2. You are far braver than I. I won’t even attempt the novel writing thing going on this month (or the sweater knitting thing that also happens this month). I have so much else to do…..and I haven’t really written anything since college soI’m not sure how good it would be.

    Like

    1. I’m not sure about braver … definitely more stupid. πŸ™‚ And from reading your blog, you do have so much going on, so I don’t blame you for not doing it. I forgot how much work it is … maybe I should to the sweater thing instead next year. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I’ve been a lurker for a little while now, but since you asked, I thought I’d say hi! I forget how I found you, whether it be through Knitty or another knit blogger. Really enjoy reading your stuff. I’m a librarian & knitter located in Poughkeepsie, NY. Cheers!

    Like

  4. Almost 20k words, that’s fantastic! what a great start to your novel, keep going!
    And I love your sweater, it looks fantastic on you. Next up- you could knit it in other colours, then you always have a ‘new’ one at the ready. And truly, that is the cutest flu virus I’ve ever seen.

    Like

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

