fiber-y pursuits.


Unfortunately, I haven’t really gotten that much done over the past month.

(Just a moment, I’m trying to think of the things that I did get done/started.)

(Few more minutes …)

(Okay, I’m ready. Here goes.)

I got a new pair of carders! And I’m making rolags! And it is so much fun!

IMG_7393IMG_7445

I got more yarn! (Like I need it …) I love this lady’s Etsy shop so much. I think I would buy any of her colors, sight unseen.

12534513_1699603356990362_168491319_n_medium2
(I think I’ve had this for a while, but I’m pretty sure I haven’t shared this on the blog.)

I spun some yarn! And experimented with plying for the first time!

IMG_7450
The fiber is a Blue-Faced Leicester sliver from Louet.

I’m knitting along with Caitlin and Rea in my mini-kal for the Fine Things for Plain Occasions. Caitlin finished her “Distinct Moral Support” hat, and it looks so good!

image_medium2
(c) punkconformity, 2016

Rea and I are knitting the same pattern, but she is so far ahead of me, I feel like a speck in the distance. But it’s good. (No, seriously, Rea. SLOW DOWN. I’m feeling bad over here. 😦 )

IMG_7451

Yesterday, we went over to the friends’ house that gave me the organic Columbia fleece, and I got to meet the sheep that produced it! I forgot to bring the camera. They had 2-day-old lambs! I forgot to bring the camera. I got to hold one of the lambs and I didn’t even care that it was dirty and I was wearing my handknit sweater because that sweater was once the covering of a dirty sheep! And … Iforgottobringthecamera.

The truth is, I’m a little preoccupied right now. Besides having a high-school occupation, there’s that thing I do with yarn and paper and pens and photos and lots of numbers that takes almost as much time as that education thing. I have a pattern coming out next month with the indie dyer Ana of Toil and Trouble that will be sold as a kit in her store. I’m actually about ready to send the sample off to my new photographer (!), and I’m working with a few test-knitters (!) to make sure everything’s in order.

I am also working on a pattern that I was supposed to have done months ago, but didn’t turn out the way I wanted so I put it on hold. Thankfully, things are falling into place nicely and I still love the yarn, which is good. That should be done by the end of this week. (I don’t know why this is turning into a schedule for myself. I wish my subconscious would pipe down once in a while.)

And. I’m swatching. With amazing breed-specific Oregon-produced wool. For a bIG pROJECT with my friend Rayna. (I purposefully didn’t capitalize the first letters so you wouldn’t suspect anything. Smart, eh?)

I really wanted to do this blog post a week or two ago, but–as is usually the case–life got in the way. But here it is. Hopefully, I’ll get better with scheduling my blog posts as the year progresses. Like I said last year. (And the year before that.)

Yes. And that brings me to this next/last thing: This Friday marks my 2 year blogging anniversary. To celebrate (because I like celebrating), all of my for-pay patterns are 25% off now until Saturday, the 27th. So if you’ve been holding off on getting one of them, now is the time to do so.

Thank you for your support and encouragement and for sticking with me on this yarn thing for 2 (!!) years. πŸ™‚

This is the end of this post.

I’m going now.

(BYE!)

J

21 thoughts on “fiber-y pursuits.

  1. You’re adorable. Seriously. You’re just so sweet about things. I can’t believe you forgot to bring your camera! BABBEH LAMBS! What?! No camera?! ::sigh::

    With that said, your design schedule is much different than mine (and I use the term “schedule” loosely here). I’m the type that I knit something full scale before I go pattern writing but that might be changing with some of the ideas hanging out in my head right now (sweaters – which take forever in my world).

    Also, quick random thought about blocking: do you do weighted blocking where you wash & dry a swatch, then hang it with some weight (clothespins usually work well) to see what the yarn will do? I’m curious. I had not heard of this being a thing but in one of the classes I took at Stitches over the weekend, Marly Bird swears by it. And it makes sense.

    Of course, I hate swatching. So, there’s that

    Like

    1. Hehehe! πŸ™‚

      I do like to do that as well, especially for socks. It seems like it never stays the exact same way I’d planned it when it gets knit up. (I’m not complaining; usually it is better when I knit it up.) So, how was Stitches? I bet you got a whole lot of yarn and inspiration! (I still would like to go sometime … :p) I do not do that kind of swatching–I’m a Pam Allen disciple and she doesn’t do it that way. πŸ™‚ I think she and Hannah Fettig talk about that in one of their earliest knit.fm podcast episodes. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. You go wander over to my blog and see all what came home (project bags, yarn, books, things that happened over the weekend….). It’s a little……oh, who am I kidding? It was a heavy weekend.

        I think the reason I might be on board with the weighted blocking thing is because I’m not a tiny person, meaning things require more yarn….and more yarn means more weight which means more dragging. So, I think it depends on what I’m making. Sweaters, I’d probably do it. Shawls…not so much. And I think I need to have a discussion with my socks. Most of them are sagging and I’m sad. ::sigh::

        Like

    1. Your comment has just left me smiling and laughing a tad maniacally. :p Thank you so so much for your support and every single comment that you’ve ever left; I really appreciate you. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Happy blogging anniversary! I hope that getting to hold a baby lamb was a good way to celebrate (even if youforgottobringthecamera!) πŸ™‚ Speaking of cameras, I’m really excited to be working with you! You should email me when you get a chance so I can give you my address and work out all the details. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Happy Blogging Anniversary! You’re doing amazing Josiah. Never lose that love of knitting or the passion for what you are doing. I’m looking forward to following your adventures of the next 12 months.

    Like

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

