the search for creativity.


Thinking about doing things doesn’t get them done; it won’t make you happy, and by proxy, the people around you will be miserable too. In my (albeit limited 17-year-old) experience, procrastination is the worst block that a maker or creative person can have.

I’ve been listening to back episodes of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Magic Lessons (the podcast she created to market her book on creativity that I have yet to read, Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear), and although some of the things she says are honestly a bit weird to me, what really resonates evokes a feeling like the sun coming out from behind the clouds to let you know it’s still there. Anything internally preventing you from doing or completing your creative work is a form of fear.

A form of fear I’m constantly struggling with is procrastination. I make time for the things that I hold in the highest regard — Do I not value my creativity enough? I think that’s the case for me. Not all people are able to live creative lives or are unable to fit creativity into their everyday. I am extremely lucky to be able to have both of those things, and yet I don’t think I appreciate that to the extent that I should.

I’m calling this post “The Search for Creativity” because that’s what we procrastinators should be doing. We should be trying to find our creativity. We look in all of the usual places — coffee-table books, Instagram, art. Sometimes it’s in those places, sometimes it isn’t. There are times when we’ve got to go completely out of anything we’ve experienced before to catch it again. Just that, in and of itself, is enough to make some of us give up altogether.

(As an aside, I was thinking of creativity as a fluffy little animal in a deep, dark, crocodile-infested jungle. Just sayin’.)

The way that I’ve found creativity successfully in a simple way is to be consistent (read: every single day around the same time) in sitting down and paying attention to what actually gets me inspired about knit design — which is what I do as a creative outlet — without giving room in my schedule to put it off. Right now, I’m inspired by minimalism and modern Scandinavian architecture. (If you’re into that too, I suggest you check out the book, Hide and Seek: The Architecture of Cabins and Hideouts. Very inspiring.) I have this moodboard that I’ve created for myself with images that fall under the said theme that I put in front of me whenever I sit down with the intent to brainstorm a new design. Usually (after I have been consistent in working on a schedule), an image speaks to me, and an idea — or three — makes itself clear right away.

For the remainder of April, I want to talk about creativity and inspiration, and ways that we can search and find those critical players that we need as makers. And, listen: I need it as much as the next person, so please don’t think that I’m some amazing kid who has boundless stores of inspiration. Also, this is just how I do it. If you have a way to stave off procrastination and find creativity, I want to hear it! Please leave me a comment.

So, to review (because you need review in short blog posts), the point that I’m attempting to make clear is:

Be Consistent In Your Work and Pay Attention To What Inspires You.

And: the kit for my new pattern is out, so if you are interested in that, the link is HERE, and the blog post explaining all of it is HERE. Thank you! 🙂

2 I'm in Love With This

The next post is based off of a really interesting conversation that I had with an incredibly talented artist last week, and it should be out … soon, whenever that is.

Until then, I wish you well. 🙂

J.

6 thoughts on “the search for creativity.

  1. As someone who also struggles with procrastination (for example, checking WordPress when I should be studying), I’m excited to hear what you have to say about overcoming it. I’m mentally preparing for the existential crisis that comes with discovering what is really important and how my life is a mess. 🙂

    Like

  2. I am a procrastinator of epic proportions. Seriously. It’s not as bad now as it was when I was still in college but I still procrastinate, especially on things I don’t want to do. Dishes and laundry come to mind but also……::sigh:: I’ve got a new sock design. The actual designing part is done (I hope)…I just have to sit and knit them. And I just cannot bring myself to do it. I’m doing every other project in my bag right now except the socks. I’ve finished three projects in the last 10 days or so, I’m focusing on a test knit for someone else right now, and I have a couple more in my bag that are calling to me….and then I found out today that my brother and his wife are expecting so now I want to knit them all the baby things.

    I’m avoiding my socks. I’m not scared to knit them but I know they’re going to take forever.

    Maybe tomorrow.

    Like

    1. What do you do to prevent procrastination, or at least get over it? Is it just something that you have to bear for a while until you feel like tackling it again, or do you force yourself to do them?

      Like

  3. We all procrastinate. I think the biggest motivator of procrastination is fear. Like me looking at the lawn which will need mowing soon and not going to buy that lawn mower because I’m scared that the next one I buy will also break (I’ve been through three now… don’t ask…) Creativity is a different thing. Sometimes the self-made pressure to create suffocates inspiration.

    Like

    1. Very well-said, Wei. Can I just say that I agree with you 100%? “Sometimes the self-made pressure to create suffocates inspiration.” Wow. Can I quote you on one of my next posts?

      Like

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

