navajo-churro fleeces.


IMG_8173

IMG_8367.JPG

Above are photos of the two Navajo-Churro fleeces that I accidentally acquired at the beginning of last month.  (I say “accidentally,” because 1: I was not expecting to get them, and 2: I still have the Columbia fleece from last year, so I really shouldn’t have agreed to them.)

There is a funny story behind this acquisition: We used to live in Boise, Idaho, and my older sister and I did Irish step dancing.  There were two little girls and their mother who did it with us, and when we moved away, we sort of lost touch with them.  We still see them every year at a convention we go to, but we don’t really spend a lot of time with them for some reason. This past June at the convention, we saw them like we do every year.  The theme of the convention this time was The Princess Bride, and over the college campus it’s held at, they had props and little fun Princess-Bride themed things.

My mother and I were walking from one building to the next, and we saw a ROUS (Rodent Of Unusual Size for those of you who haven’t seen Princess Bride) (if you haven’t seen that, shame on you, go do that right now) prop, which was made with a pink felt tail and a bit of brown-colored fleece.

“Hey, isn’t that wool?” my mom asked me, pointing at the prop.

It made me incredibly happy to know that I’d indoctrinated my mom enough for her to pick out a fleece like that.  “Yeah, it looks like Navajo-Churro wool.”

We walked on.  Later that day, the mother that we took dance with came up to me and said, “How did you know that it was Navajo-Churro?!?!”

At first I didn’t really understand what she was talking about. “You mean they’re really Navajo-Churro fleeces?!”  I had made a guess, and I was surprised that it turned out to be right.

Her face lit up in what I could distinctly recognize as an I’m-going-to-geek-out-about-wool-now expression, and I’m pretty sure that my face mirrored hers.  “Yes!  They asked us to make a few props for the conference, and I thought, ‘Why not use these extra fleeces up?’  And I was talking to your mom about them, and she said that you said that they were Navajo-Churros, and I was like, ‘I didn’t tell anyone what kind they were, how did he know?’ and she said, ‘Oh, he just knows things like that about wool.’  I have two lamb fleeces in the car, do you want them?!?!”

It turns out that they have a good-sized flock of Churros that they got from a lady that I took a natural dyeing class from last autumn who lives down the road from them.  It is funny how things work out.

Of course I said yes to the fleeces, so now I have two natural-colored lamb fleeces: a black one from Bear, and a reddish-brown one from Moose.  Because they were from lambs, they are both rather soft.

I’ve only spun up a tiny little skein so far, but I’m having a marvelous time planning up the spinning.  I’m going to blend some of it with my Columbia to make the Churro have a little more body, and to make a grey color.  It may sound strange, but I have been so excited about it that whenever I think of blending it for color, my heart starts racing and I get this dorky grin on my face.  I know, I know, I’m really strange, and I should probably delete that sentence, but 1: I’m too lazy to, and 2: if I don’t, then I’ll know who’s a genuine friend, and who just puts up with me.

I was planning on putting the word little on the title of this post, but I had to delete that because this post is decidedly not little at all.  Sometimes it happens like that.

jos. bain.

14 thoughts on “navajo-churro fleeces.

  1. I know the exact expression you are referring! We’re wool/fiber people, can’t help ourselves and I’m so happy you didn’t delete that sentence. Just reading about your fleeces and color blending makes me get up and get busy spinning with my tour de fleece fiber. Thankful that we have discovered our joys.

    Like

  2. Jealous. I am so very.

    With that said, I hate cleaning fleece and will gladly pay to have someone else do that part for me. I don’t mind cleaning out a little bit of veg matter and carding and all that….but the washing and scouring and the picking of all the veg and so on….not my cuppa.

    I might look into a couple of fleeces at Lambtown this fall…maybe…I have so much fiber to spin right now. Of course, if I keep going at the rate I’m going for Tour de Fleece, I will have significantly less to spin 🙂

    Like

    1. I should really look into processing rates; it does take time and effort, and while it might be nice to do it once in a while, it gets old fast. I wish you all the best with your Tour de Fleece! Not good/fast enough to attempt that yet. :p

      Like

  3. I started smiling when you mentioned The Princess Bride and continued smiling throughout your obvious passion/happiness about the fleeces and ideas for blending them. Thanks for sharing your joy in both. You may appreciate hearing that Caitlin’s husband had to watch The Princess Bride (and like it) before we would allow her to marry him :)> If he hadn’t liked it, he would have been an ROUS!

    Like

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

