things.


I don’t think I quite meant there to be a three-month silence here, on this blog.  The truth is, I have not really done anything interesting these past couple months.  Mostly, I’ve been working on school.  I may have read a few books.  I definitely tried to do NaNoWriMo again earlier this month, but now I am not sure where I stand in that regard.  Decidedly not anywhere near finishing.

So: here are a few things.  Random things.  Mostly knitted things.  But things in general.

First thing:  I’m not quite sure what this is going to be.  But it is a thing.  (I told you: things. This post is about things.)  It is a thing to go around one’s neck.  I haven’t decided what to call it at all, but I love it.  I’m knitting it in Imperial’s Columbia 2-ply, which is a woolen-spun aran-weight yarn, and the only stitch pattern I wanted to knit with it was brioche.  Paired together, it is the squishiest, coziest thing I’ve laid my hands on.

file-oct-27-1-46-33-pm

Thing 2:  This is the Beetlebum Shawl by Renee Callahan of East London Knit.  I brought the pattern early this summer, but I hadn’t gotten any yarn for it.  I ended up getting some yarn (Classic Elite’s Silky Alpaca) from my grandma last month, and I love how it pairs with the pattern.

img_9208

Thing 3:  My cat, looking at the camera in a somewhat displeased manner.  For better or worse, this is his normal expression.

img_9220

Thing 4:  Thanksgiving happened earlier this week!  My family and I took a road trip up to Coeur d’Alene, Idaho, and had a lovely time.

img_9241
A river. That I have forgotten the name of.

img_9243

img_9247
This is part of the world’s longest floating boardwalk.

img_9256

Thing 5:  I want to say thank you to you all.  I’m nearing my third year of blogging which is incredible, as I’ve basically done nothing like this for three consecutive years.  (If you think I have a bad blogging schedule, you should see my journal …)

Your support has been magnificent.  When I’m having a bad day, I go back and read through the comments that you’ve left, encouraging me on and giving me advice when I need it, and I always leave feeling as if maybe I’ve accomplished something by writing random things about knitting.  I appreciate each and every one of you.

Best,

josiah

8 thoughts on “things.

  1. “A river. That I have forgotten the name of.” bahahaha!!! That’s great!!! lol! And your pics of your knitting are so artsy!

    Know how life is… it can be crazy, busy, interesting. I must say your line about the last three months of your life not being interesting caught me like, “What!?” haha. Life is always interesting… we just have to see it… sometimes it is hard, true, and we’re like “What in the world? I’ve just been living and doing, but what have I to show for it?” Are you happy? Do you have friends/ family? Things to do that you love? Then in that case, it sounds like life is very exciting and interesting. Maybe not to someone else’s opinion. But then who cares what another may consider interesting? It’s our life, and only we have to answer to whether it is interesting or not.

    And this is my first year doing NaNo… I must say I love it! It was just what I needed… a challenge to get my writing blood flowing hard. And knitting has been going strong again, too. 😀

    Fun post!!! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Keturah: That is such a wonderful, thoughtful insight! Thank you for sharing that perspective, “Life is always interesting, we just have to see it.”

      And good on you for doing NaNo! It’s a challenge, isn’t it? 🙂 What’s your username there? I’ll add you as a writing buddy!

      As always, I love reading your comments; thank you so much for your support!

      Like

      1. Thanks!

        My NaNo name happens to be my own name – Keturah Lamb 😉 my novel is The Fur Slipper. And yes, I won!!! Completing my second novel 😀

        And THANK YOU!! Love your fabulous posts 😊😊

        Like

  2. You always make me smile – “(I told you: things. This post is about things.)” 🙂

    I was actually thinking about you recently when I remembered that it was NaNoWriMo. I wondered if you had given it a go this year. I second the comment about your knitting pictures. Combine your photography ability with your writing style and I think you could write a great knitting book. You’re engaging, humorous, honest, and fun.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

What do you think? Your comments are appreciated.

